Fabels A New Twist

This graphic novel had everything a mystery and humor. The best part of all was that all the characters were familiar, somewhat. There wasn’t anything about this book that I didn’t enjoy and I’m actually looking forward to reading the next book in the series. I picked up this because I read a review of it on another blog but, and I’m sorry for this, I don’t remember what blog it was. I’m not sure if the one who did the review reads this please send me an email with the link so I can add a link to end of this post. That goes with anyone else that’s read the book as well.

The story revolves around the possible murder of Rose Red (sister of Snow White). There are a number of classic fairytale characters that are suspects or involved in solving the case. This is the first book of the series we learn that all the fairytale characters have been exiled from their original homelands and are forced to live in our world. The creatures that have been exiled are living on a farm known simply as “The Farm”

The Bad Wolf is the in charge of the investigation. It should also be noted that he is no longer a wolf, rather a human. The book really kept me in the story, I didn’t want to put the book down once I started. It was really fantastic and I’m looking forward to the second book. If you haven’t yet read this it’s one that you should definitely check out, Fables: Legends in Exile would be a great introduction to graphic novels.

I also must mention the incredible art work that is found within the covers of this book. They are very detailed and full of colour. The art work is reason enough to get this book, and you get a little idea what it’s like from the cover art. If you like that you’re sure to love what’s found inside. Lan Medina’s work is incredible and it should be admired for what it is. I cannot accurately describe them well enough so I’ll just let the art speak for itself.

Other reviews of this book

http://somereads.blogspot.com/2007/08/fables-vol-1-legends-in-exile.html

8 thoughts on “Fabels A New Twist

  1. I love this series… it was one of the first comics (graphic novels) I bought… I’m trying to collect several series now and I always anticipate these releases! Thanks for the good review!

  2. Somer: Thanks, I’ll add that at the bottom of this post.

    Heather: It’s great, I’m really looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Bybee: I came across this one on another blog. But The Book Vault has a huge graphic novel selection. So, I can do some exploring now.

    Crazycrashink: No problem, I’m really enjoying these books too.

  3. […] been thinking about reading more graphic novels, and because I read a good review of it on That’s the Book! I haven’t started it yet, but I’m looking forward to […]

Leave a comment