Weekly Geeks #2 – “Linking Up” and Unfinished Business

So this week we are being challenged to encourage others to leave a message via comments or email when they have reviewed the same book as ourselves.  I think this is a great idea.  It’s great to have a way to connect to others that have posted the same review as you so that the readers can get all the opinions out there about the given book.  Once you’ve left the comment the owner of the blog will then create a link at the end of the blog for you wonderful readers to go directly to the post of the reviewed book. 

What a perfect idea and I really want to participate in this.  I already try to link if I know someone has reviewed the same book as me but I obviously miss a number of them.  So, here’s what I would like; if you have reviewed a book that is the same as me please send me an email about the book that you have reviewed and the link to that review and I will place the links at the end of the post.  Since I haven’t done on a lot of posts on this site yet feel free to let me know about any book I have reviewed to date on this site.  The email address you can send your requests to is thatsthebook (at) gmail (dot) com.  I’m looking forward to seeing how many of you have read the same books as me.

I also wanted to let everyone know about a rather amusing name that the group of book bloggers have been given.  My girlfriend (Charlotte) keeps talking about how large our book blogging community is and thinks it might be a little scary.  As a result she has come to refer to us as “The Book Blog Mafia” or “Bblofia” for short.  I loved this and thought I’m going to create a button for this (I’ve never done this before so it could take a while).  So, you can keep your eyes peeled for that button.  I thought others of you may like this so the button will be for those of you wishing to be members of the Bblofia! 

I also wanted to update everyone on an earlier post, Article and a Contest.  If those of you have not read it yet I’m going to be adding a new feature to this blog which will be a discussion on book related news.  I’m looking for a name and there will be a prize for the winning name.  I haven’t anounced the prize yet but here it is.  I’ll be giving away a gift certificate to any online bookstore they use at a $25 value.  The contest will close the end of May to give everyone plenty of time to think of a name that would like to.  Please if you think of a name post it on the original post.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks #2 – “Linking Up” and Unfinished Business

  1. Hey Aaron! You were on the ball this week, you were the first to sign up for this project.

    We haven’t really read the same books, but it looks like you’re currently reading some I’m about to be reading. I’ve added you to my reader because of last week’s WG project, so I’ll be on the lookout for reviews we can link exchange on in the future. 😀

  2. I’m here via Weekly Geeks (and I’m sure I’ll be staying to look around). The only book you’ve read this year that I’ve reviewed on my blog (I’ve read others, but it was in pre-blog time) is the Oliver Sacks (http://astripedarmchair.wordpress.com/2007/11/02/a-variety-of-non-fiction/). I can’t tell if you’ve reviewed that one, but if you have I’d love for you to leave a link to your review in my comments as well. 🙂 I’ll be thinking of a name for your new feature too!

  3. This week’s Weekly Geeks sounds great!!! Since there’re so many bookbloggers out there, it’s going to take me some time to go through the lists and have everyone linked up, but I’ll do it. Sounds like loads of fun! I’m glad you decided to participate in this as well, Aaron.

    I quite like the name Charlotte refer to us bookbloggers… LOL! I’ll be looking forward to seeing your button, haha.

  4. Hi Aaron! It doesn’t look like we have read any of the same books yet, but I did add you to my blogroll on my blog. I see you already added mine.

    Thanks!

    Teddy

  5. Renay: I haven’t found anyone that has read the same as me. Well, maybe I’ve read but haven’t blogged about it yet. I’m glad you enjoy this place enough to come back. And I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for reviews we’ll both do in the future too.

    Eva: Oh you read that book too? That’s great! I’m going to make a trip to your post and give it a read. I recently moved locations and I believe I blogged about the Sack’s book at my previous location. I don’t think I’m going to go back there and make changes to that blog, sorry. But be sure to keep an eye on things here and I’ll link anything on this site. I’ll be sure to keep an eye on your blog too.

    Melody: Oh yeah, I want to get that button up as soon as I can. I think I also reviewed The Kite Runner on my last blog as well. This really isn’t working for people showing up here. lol

    Teddyrose: Great thanks. Yeah, I’ve been to your place a few times. I enjoy your blog.

  6. I have read some of the same books as you, but they were all pre-blogging– Drat!!! Maybe in the future we will overlap. I am here from Weekly Geeks as well.

  7. Beastmomma: Oh that’s too bad. Perhaps we’ll overlap later on, I’ll be sure to visit your blog soon.

Leave a comment