The Gargoyle – Review

2456928072_52e0779c22

thegargoyleThe Gargoyle

By Andrew Davidson

Genre: Fiction/Historical Fiction

I think I may have a new favourite book! The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson is a book that had me captivated from the very first sentence, “Accidents ambush the unsuspecting, often violently, just like love.” Davidson is very eloquent making it very difficult to set the book down. I actually ended up staying up rather late last night to finish this amazing novel.

The story is of a man severely burned from an accident in his vehicle and Marianne. There are various aspects of their lives that are revealed throughout the novel. As their time together progresses Marianne tells him stories of love and of their past lives. Marianne deals with several bouts of a mental disorder that isn’t exactly clear and because of it she has manic moments of carving gargoyles.

I will say that I rarely get so emotionally involved in books that I read but it an option while reading this one. The last 50 or so pages were difficult to read because of the welling of tears. I was actually quite shocked to that this happened because I cannot even remember the last time I became so emotionally involved in a book. But I would say it was a great aspect of this novel.

To top everything else off it was great to find out that Andrew Davidson is from Winnipeg. Another great Canadian novel. I must thank those of you that suggested I read this when putting down you favourite Canadian novels in my giveaway. I am very excited to see what will come from Andrew Davidson next because his writing is beautiful. And for those of you that like to read about food the description of their feasts are enough to make you drool.

Get your hands on a copy of this novel as soon as you can!

Here are some others that have also reviewed the book:

The Book Lady’s Blog has a wonderful review.
http://thebookladysblog.com/2008/07/02/book-review-the-gargoyle-by-andrew-davidson/

Devourer of Books focuses more on the beginning of the novel but it’s what drew her into this fantastic novel.
http://www.devourerofbooks.com/2008/05/the-gargoyle-book-review/

Joy’s Blog seems to have enjoyed the novel as well.
http://jlshall.blogspot.com/2008/09/review-gargoyle.html

Over at Fresh Ink Books you can see a little on the novel.
http://freshinkbooks.blogspot.com/2009/03/tss-books-read-this-week.html

The Raabe Review has an amazing review of this book.
http://theraabereview.com/book-reviews/the-gargoyle-by-andrew-davidson/#comment-677

Another review can be found at Reading Adventures.
http://readingadventures.blogspot.com/2008/11/gargoyle-by-andrew-davidson.html

If you would like your review added send me an email and I’ll be more than happy to add your review as well.

6 thoughts on “The Gargoyle – Review

  1. Good review. I’m so glad you enjoyed this story as much as I did. Sweet of you to include my mini review in your links too. I too can’t wait to see what Davidson writes next.

  2. Sandra: Thanks, it was a wonderful novel. If his next novel is half as good as this one we are in for a treat.

    CB James: I hope you enjoy it when you get a chance to read it.

  3. Great synopsis here and I’ll add my accolades for Davidson’s debut novel. I hear he is at work on a second one – but it could be a long time before it’s done. Davidson takes his research very seriously.

  4. draabe: That’s exciting to hear that he’s working on another one. You’re right, it’ll probably be a while before he’s finished.

Leave a comment